Research & Development Cell -2020-2021

National Faculty Development Programme

On June 5, 2020, the Research and Development Cell, in collaboration with the Internal Quality Assurance Cell of Women's Christian College (WCC), hosted an online National Faculty Development Program titled "Innovation and Research Opportunities for Faculty in the New Normal." The keynote speaker was Dr. Manpreet Singh Manna, former Director of AICTE and a prominent figure in the "SWAYAM MOOCs" Project and Prime Minister Special Scholarship Scheme. The program engaged 312 faculty members from institutions across India.

Faculty Achievements

This year marked significant achievements, with four faculty members awarded Ph.D. degrees: Dr. Cordilea Hannah (Plant Biology and Biotechnology), Dr. Jenelin Kamalam R (Business Administration), Dr. Vanitha N (Information Technology), and Dr. Janet Glory (Management Studies). Additionally, the PG & Research Department of Biotechnology received three patents, and the Department of Computer Science and Technology received one. Notably, M.R. Kamala Priya and Dr. Priya I Iyer patented their "Biosynthesized Nano Drug for Anti-HIV Activity." Dr. Anchana Devi C and Dr. Pavithra Amritkumar were awarded patents for their "Antiseptic Rubber Membrane" and "Nutritional Edible Cutlery and Spoon." Dr. V. Savithri's work on a "Rapid and Finger Print-Based Centralized Voting System" also received patent approval.

Research Grant

Dr. Anita R.J. Singh received a two-year grant of Rs. 3,20,000 from TNSCST for a project titled "Microbial Fuel Cell-A Bio Conservative Approach." Additionally, Ms. V. Srilakshmi was awarded Rs. 7,500 from the Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology, and Ms. Kamali Priya received a CSIR Senior Research Fellowship.

ELEANOR, WCC's Journal of Multidisciplinary Research

This year, the third volume of *ELEANOR*, WCC's Journal of Multidisciplinary Research, was published, featuring 18 articles. A fourth volume, with 22 original manuscripts, is in progres

Al

Deans of Research Dr. Anita R. J. Singh & Dr. Banani Mukhopadhyay